Kendra Steiner Editions

August 18, 2012

Bill Shute poetry reading in Austin, TX, Monday 17 September 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — kendrasteinereditions @ 6:09 pm

I’ll be reading on Monday 17 September in Austin, Texas, at Headhunters Club at 7th and Red River as part of Michael Casares’s “Austin Salon Poetic” series. I should go on around 7:30, but please try to arrive by 7:15 to get a good barstool and get your drink order in. Headhunters (I saw the band Kohoutek play there last year!) is certainly an intimate venue, and it’s a bar with atmosphere to burn, so I’m very much looking forward to reading at this venue, and Virgogray Press mainman Michael Aaron Casares, a former San Antonio resident, always puts on an excellent show as host. This will be my first public reading of anything from the FLORIDA NOCTURNE POEMS sequence, with a premiere reading of the second chapbook in the sequence, MONDO DAYTONA. I’ll also have some copies of MONDO DAYTONA available. My philosophy is to do a quality job in a short time and leave them wanting more. Too many poets drone (not in the good sense of that word, alas) on and on during their readings. I do not and will not. My featured reading slot should run a maximum of 30 minutes. Thus, if you are just getting off work, I won’t keep you long from your dinner or whatever.

Hope you all can come. I don’t have any other readings planned for the Fall of 2012, and may not be doing another reading until January 2013, so if at all possible, stop by Headhunters for this one. I’ve got some exciting collaborative projects going on in Fall 2012, and I’m going to devote my efforts to those…and keep checking the KSE blog to find out about those projects as they develop.

See you in Austin on September 17th…

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

The Rubric Theme. Blog at WordPress.com.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 27 other followers

