Kendra Steiner Editions

April 27, 2008

TRANSPARENCY (KSE #93) now available

Filed under: Uncategorized — kendrasteinereditions @ 9:01 am

Adrian Manning’s WIDE ASLEEP, FAST AWAKE (a Sound Library volume inspired by the Sonic Youth album Daydream Nation) is now available for order, and I’ll be writing about it here soon, but for now let me announce that my own TRANSPARENCY (KSE #93, and volume 32 in the Sound Library Series) is now available.

For those who, like me, do not seek out any special attention in daily life and who prefer to keep a low profile, being a poet allows you a lot of anonymity. People who know me in my neighborhood or at my workplace know what I do, and with a few important (and very much appreciated!) exceptions, could not care less about it. If I had a band, they’d hear us practicing in the garage all the time; if I were a film-maker, they’d see me with a videocam all the time. However, as a poet, I have no visible identifying item (most don’t notice the moleskine notebook in my shirt pocket), so I’m left alone and I can remain transparent. This allows me to be right in the thick of life-as-it-as-lived, and daily life is my greatest inspiration.

Transparency. Too much garlic in the salsa. Unused soccer fields. Straightening tablecloths and pouring coffee at the Notaries’ Convention. Crickets and chainsaws and gasoline. Poet, seek alliances, not followers!

For $4.00 ($5.00 outside the US), YOU ARE THERE alongside the poet. Anonymous. Transparent. Deep in the heart of Texas.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

