Kendra Steiner Editions

June 5, 2009

Bill Shute presentation at University of Texas at San Antonio, 11 June 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — kendrasteinereditions @ 4:56 pm

I’ve been invited to be Guest Writer with the San Antonio Writing Project, held at the University of Texas at San Antonio, between 12 and 3 p.m. on Thursday 11 June.

The presentation will contain readings from my poetry and non-fiction (including the premiere of the new chapbook THE STUMBLE, inspired by the Jandek album The Place) ; a discussion of my editing work for Bedford-St. Martin’s on the five editions of Susan Anker’s book Real Writing ; thoughts on the relevance of my work in literacy education to my work as a poet and editor of poetry ; a discussion of form/structure in the work of poets Charles Reznikoff, Paul Blackburn, Ted Berrigan, and William Carlos Williams; and a workshop dedicated to bringing out particularity and vivid sense impressions in one’s writing.

I’m usually too busy DOING to talk about doing, so this will be a rare occasion for me to pull together all the work I have done in different fields over many years and find common ground. I also tend to avoid anything to do with academic poetry or creative writing programs, but these folks are all working in the field of literacy education and/or teacher training, so I have nothing but respect for these professionals who help students to empower themselves through literacy and real-world language study.

I’m very excited about this opportunity, and I hope that the members of the SAWP find my presentation/workshop to be useful.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

