Kendra Steiner Editions

August 30, 2010

KSE #167, Bill Shute, “Down Bridge Street”

Filed under: Uncategorized — kendrasteinereditions @ 7:11 pm

BILL  SHUTE 

DOWN   BRIDGE  STREET   (KSE #167)

Sound Library Series, Volume 56

 

I don’t promote my personal biography very much—-the work is what matters, not who made it—-but I was born and lived until 6th grade on Boston’s South Shore, in North Weymouth, Massachusetts, near Quincy. I didn’t particularly like it when I lived there, even as a child I knew there had to be something better somewhere, and I was glad when my family moved to Colorado when I finished 6th grade. Only with the distance provided by time was I able to eventually see what deep roots I had in the Boston area, how it put its mark on me forever, and what a positive influence it was on me…and how much I do still love Boston and the South Shore. DOWN BRIDGE STREET has nothing to do with my personal transformation or anything like that…it is, simply, a multi-part poem set in the Boston South Shore of the 1960′s dealing with a character’s learning about the adult world, paralleling the decline of the Boston music scene in the late 60′s. This is a culturally rich and culturally distinct area, and I used that cultural detail as the fabric from which this poem was woven. It’s certainly a change of pace for me, and I hope you enjoy it. It’s full of allusions to the Boston music scene of the day, but you don’t need to catch all those arcane references; I always insist on any poetry of mine working on the surface level. I’m too young to have experienced “the sixties” much—I was in elementary school. BUT, I did see what was happening and I did find my own personal salvation in the psychedelic culture, which continues to nurture me today. Remember, when I was a music-loving boy of 9 years old, psychedelia was in full bloom, and some of the first 45’s I bought were things such as “I Am The Walrus,”  “Dandelion/We Love You,” “She’s a Rainbow/2000 Light Years From Home,” “Hot Smoke and Sassafras,” etc. I bought a mono 99-cent cut-out copy of “Their Satanic Majesties Request” (with the red London MONOPHONIC label) at my local supermarket as a ten-year old, and the next year for another dollar got a cut-corner copy of the Date Records issue of The Zombies “Odessey and Oracle” album, a copy I still own. Soon after that I bought WONDERWALL MUSIC and Lennon/Ono’s UNFINISHED MUSIC NO. 2, LIFE WITH THE LIONS. I remember sitting in a corner of my room as a 9 year old, turning out the lights, and listening to George Harrison’s solo Beatles b-side “The Inner Light” over and over and over, hoping to be taken somewhere by it, and I certainly was…and I’m still on that journey today. DOWN BRIDGE STREET is the story of the early days of that journey. I hope you enjoy it.

$5.00 postpaid anywhere, via paypal, to django5722(at)yahoo(dot)com.

Other recent poetry releases, available for the same price, include

#168, DOUG DRAIME, “For A Dream Ended.”

#169, BILL SHUTE, “Seawall” (sound library series, Volume 57) ;

#166, A.J.  KAUFMANN, “Amazon, The Fame of God.” (cinema poetry series, volume 4) ;

#165, BILL SHUTE, “Oneness & The Sun” (sound library series, volume 55) ;

#164, JONO TOSCH, “Probably” ;

#160, JOHN SWEET, “This Moment, Reflected in Ice” ;

#161, BILL SHUTE, “Lament for the Living: Chet Baker’s Final Session” (sound library series, volume 53) ;

#158, ZACHARY C. BUSH, “Is This Deformed” ;

#156, BILL SHUTE, “The Mosquitoes of La Marque” (sound library series, volume 50) ;

#155, JIM D. DEUCHARS, “Monongahela Abstract Construct” ;

#152,  K.M. DERSLEY, “many septembers”

As always, thanks for your support of KSE, of small presses, of small labels, and of independent artists NOT associated with a*s-licking cliques. Seek alliances, not followers.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

