Kendra Steiner Editions

July 7, 2013

THE LANGUAGE OF CONSTRUCTION (KSE #265), new art-and-poetry chapbook from BILL SHUTE

BILL  SHUTE,   THE LANGUAGE OF CONSTRUCTION

KSE #265   poetry and photography chapbook

$6 US postpaid / $7 outside US postpaid

payment via paypal  to   django5722(at)yahoo(dot)com

THE LANGUAGE OF CONSTRUCTION

Often, upon finishing what I consider a more “important” work,  I will feel as though I need to explore more fully aspects of that piece  and extend those aspects into new areas before I move onto another larger work (some of my friends who are painters and composers tell me they do the same thing). THE LANGUAGE OF CONSTRUCTION does that on a few levels.

The title phrase is, of course, Picasso’s. After working on my Picasso-inspired chapbook WORRIED MEN AND WOODEN SOLDIERS (which will be released later this summer…I’ll be premiering it at my reading at Amazing Books in Pittsburgh on July 28 and will have some pre-release copies available there…hope to see you!), I wanted get more into some of  the structural aspects of Picasso that I was investigating/playing with in WORRIED MEN. I was also still on a high from doing the art-and-poetry chapbook with Daniel Hipolito (MEDITATIONS ON A ONE-WAY TRAIL, KSE #261, still available for $6/$7, same price as this one), and wanted to continue poetic dialoguing with artworks. I had a suite of photographs I’d taken recently in New Braunfels, Texas; I’d been making some poetic notes recently in New Braunfels, Texas; thus, it seemed a natural to combine the two and produce a new art-and-poetry chapbook, and that’s THE LANGUAGE OF CONSTRUCTION.

The political concerns of WORRIED MEN are continued here, but in a more indirect and reflective manner, with a focus on how politics has “trickled down” to the individuals who, in this piece, wash dishes and wait on tables in New Braunfels, Texas, trying to find or to create small epiphanies in their/our lives. For me (and I never intend to tell anyone else how to write or how to live life, just report on what works for me), poetry loses value when it becomes divorced from life as it is lived—-that does NOT mean that I am producing a flat naturalistic recording of events or a direct transcription of interior monologue. When one uses the things of everyday life as the pieces with which he/she constructs his poetic word-sculpture, those “things” become part of a new “thing,” the poetry construct. That’s why I took the title JUNK SCULPTURE FROM THE NEW GILDED AGE for one of my spoken word cdr’s.

In a conversation a few days ago with an artist friend with whom I’m working on a project, I described my FLORIDA NOCTURNE POEMS as “rough-cut energized clusters of phrases, placed on the page as if it’s a canvas (post-Charles Olson “projective verse,” open-field poetry, though Paul Blackburn or Ted Berrigan are much more touchstones for me than Olson’s own poetry),”  and I suppose that is an adequate description of what’s going on here, though with a twist of the casual voice one finds in early Lewis MacAdams (I’ve been reading a lot of his 60’s/70’s works recently…his modern work is superb also, check him out), and of course, let’s not forget that the poems grow out of the artworks.

So come with me to contemporary Texas, to the restaurant/bar workplace, with its chatty customers, fidgety toddlers, a-hole bosses, after-work trysts, unrealized dreams, dust and desserts….waiting for rain, but afraid of rain…

Limited hand-numbered edition of 49 copies…get yours now. Because of the cost of printing, I hardly ever reprint the art-and-poetry chapbooks (I did a number of these in the 2008-2009 period), and also for logistical reasons, it’s unlikely that they will appear in future “selected poems” volumes, since the poems are inseparable from the artwork, and the artwork is too expensive to reproduce…so grab this now or you won’t get one….

language three

I also want to announce two new and exciting poetry chapbooks that will be out in August…you can order them beginning the first week in August and they’ll be officially released later in that month:

MATT KREFTING, “THE PRINCESS OF KNIGHT AVENUE” (KSE #259)

matt krefting poetry PRINCESS

and

GRAHAM LAMBKIN, “SLIMMERS VERB” (KSE #258)

graham cover

as always, thanks for your support of independent non-aligned DIY arts organizations such as KSE that circumvent the established “underground” hierarchy and connect person-to-person…

language five

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

